Giving Up On Montessori Schools

Discussion in 'Montessori' started by Suburban Gal, Oct 2, 2006.

1. Suburban Gal

Suburban Gal (formerly Elizabeth) Banned

Oct 2, 2006

Well, I sent out a dozen, if not more, résumés a couple of weeks ago and have only heard back from two Montessori Schools. One wanted me as a Substitute Teacher and another, where I interviewed at last Wednesday, wouldn't even hire me for a part-time TA.

I was hoping it'd be rather easy to get into a Montessori School, have them train me, and then work my way up the wrungs to become an actual Montessori School teacher. Guess I was wrong.

3. nyanne

nyanne Rookie

Oct 2, 2006

I wouldn't give up so quickly if I were you. I see you are in NE IL. I am, too...in the northwest suburbs of Chicago. If there's any way I might be able to help (just through knowing people or schools in the area if this is where you are also), feel free to PM me with where you are living/looking to teach. I'm also a trainer for the MMTTC in Crystal Lake, for whatever that might be worth...I could find out specifics for you to get your training if you have any questions, let me know.
    ~Anne

4. teresaglass

teresaglass Groupie

Oct 2, 2006

How about trying child care or more preschools? They might have openings. Terry G.

5. Suburban Gal

Oct 3, 2006

Thank you for you kindness and willingness to offer assistance. I'll shoot off a PM to you right away.

Believe me, my résumé has gone just about everywhere at this point. Shy from moving, which is just not doable for me right now, there's not much else I can do except repeatedly sending my résumé out to various districts and schools.

Maybe nyanne is right. Maybe I shouldn't give up on getting into a Montessori School just yet. It's only been a week since they all received my résumé so perhaps I still may get a call to interview for a TA position. Who knows. Anything is possible.

6. Pattypoo

Pattypoo Comrade

Oct 3, 2006