Giving Up Hope for this Year

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by themilocat, Aug 11, 2011.

1. themilocat

themilocat Rookie

Aug 11, 2011

Schools here start either Monday or Wednesday of next week! Several schools across the state have posted openings, and I've called them all as soon as I saw it. I left voicemails at 2 (never called me back, either), nobody answered at 1, and 2 told me the position had already been filled, but they had to post the position anyway. I even left work early one day to go meet a principal, who ended up being out on a 2 hour lunch break...after she had confirmed my meeting with her.

My current job has offered me the position of music and PE teacher, but it's 10 hours a week-- it's a very small private school. I have zero experience with these...and it's not what I want to do for a year. I think at this point I would rather just sub for a year, so at least I can put that experience down on future applications.

3. fratbrats

fratbrats Comrade

Aug 11, 2011

:( I'm sorry to hear this! I'm kind of in the same situation. I'm going to go set up my classroom tomorrow. It's an unsavory position, but at least it's a position. I've thought about just resigning several times. :( I did try a last ditch effort today, by applying at a district consortium. I'm not hopeful, but you never know! :)

4. SCTeachInTX

SCTeachInTX Fanatic

Aug 11, 2011

I was hired two weeks after the school year when I got my first job. I sure am glad that I did not give up the fight. GOOD LUCK to you and I know this is a hard decision to make. Substituting is a great way to get your foot in the door and get noticed.

5. nangel78

nangel78 Companion

Aug 11, 2011

I feel like a major loser because I have not landed anything. I could have had a job 5 hours from my husband, but we decided that would not be the best thing afterall. :(

6. SCTeachInTX

SCTeachInTX Fanatic

Aug 12, 2011