Giving teachers a bad name

Discussion in 'General Education' started by rachaelski, Oct 31, 2009.

1. rachaelski

rachaelski Habitué

Oct 31, 2009

http://www.koat.com/news/21469821/detail.html

In my own city. I am disgusted. As a middle school teacher, I do not know how anyone can find a 13 year old attractive. Sure, I might say, "he is going to be handsome when he gets older," but to be attracted to a 13 year old? Humans who spend the majority of their time talking about or touching their genitalia? People like this hurt our image as professionals.

3. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Oct 31, 2009

Ewww. I can't begin to imagine feeling attracted to one of my students; I feel like their mother most of the time.

4. Emma35

Emma35 Connoisseur

Oct 31, 2009

This is sick. And I agree with the comments on that page. Where were that boys parents? They need to take some responsibility too!

5. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Oct 31, 2009

Why?? For all they knew, he was at school getting extra help.

Nope, an adult who has sexual relations with a 13 year old child has no one to blame but herself.

6. CanukTeacher

CanukTeacher Comrade

Oct 31, 2009

Clearly the woman is responsible. His parents are not responsible. HOWEVER, if they went to a movie at a normal movie time and were "parked" at a normal "parking time" then the parents had to be pretty naive or uninformed to think he was at school at that time of night getting tutoring. If they did this at 4 in the afternoon and he was home for dinner than their lack of knowledge is more understandable.

7. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Oct 31, 2009

OK, good point.

But I still don't think this is about parenting, at least not on their end. (By the way, she was a MOM???? If I were hubby, I would have serious concerns about my kids.)