Gifts for students

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by mbenner, Nov 4, 2011.

1. mbenner

mbenner New Member

Nov 4, 2011

Hi, I'm a student teacher in the 4th grade. I really love my students and would love to give them something before I leave in December. Just so you're aware I have 57 students so the gifts can not be costly since that would add up VERY quickly. I was thinking about notes to each along with a class gift. I'm from Michigan originally but since my parents moved to Pennsylvania I am doing my student teaching there and they love to ask me questions about MI so I want to get a classroom book about MI, but I am looking for other ideas or expansions of the two I've mentioned. Thanks for your help!

3. cutNglue

cutNglue Magnifico

Nov 4, 2011

Some you made is just as precious.

4. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Nov 4, 2011

5. readingrules12

readingrules12 Aficionado

Nov 4, 2011

Hmm..not sure exactly how much you want to spend. I would recommend keeping it on the low side.

As mentioned above you could make something for them--but not sure if you have that kind of time for 57 students.

One thing I give for Christmas presents when I taught 3rd and 4th grade was the dollar store stuffed animals. I am amazed at how much even the boys love stuffed animals. For $1/student I couldn't find anything that got them more excited.

If $1/student is too much, I agree with the above post that oriental trading is a good place to get items for students.

6. Lynnnn725

Lynnnn725 Connoisseur

Nov 4, 2011

I would just get the class a gift. I like your idea - a handwritten note to each student (whoa, that's a lot) and then just a class gift. We have to be practical here!

7. cutNglue

cutNglue Magnifico

Nov 4, 2011

As far as a class gift, consider a new game for their math or literacy center.

8. cutNglue

cutNglue Magnifico

Nov 4, 2011

9. Tasha

Tasha Phenom

Nov 4, 2011

I think a class gift is sufficient.

10. readingrules12