Gifts for Custodial Staff?

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by teachfrog, Jul 12, 2007.

1. teachfrog

teachfrog Rookie

Jul 12, 2007

Happy Thursday! I am a first year K teacher. Coincidentally, I am running a summer camp at the same school where I will be teaching in the fall. Because of this, I've already built a great relationship with the custodial staff there. They are FABULOUS! They've already done several nice things for me (switching out my chalkboard for a whiteboard, taking extra care when cleaning my room, etc). I was thinking I'd make them some banana bread but I wanted everyone's thoughts on something nice I could do for them before school starts. Thanks for your ideas!;)

3. Mable

Mable Enthusiast

Jul 12, 2007

We gave our custodial staff presents at the holiday and end of the year. It's a must for all they do for us throughout the year. We give gift certificates...

4. Missy

Missy Aficionado

Jul 12, 2007

Food is always good! :)

The year I switched classrooms (voluntarily) two days before school started and I needed a lot of help from the custodians, I went a little further, and got them each sweatshirts from their favorite sports teams.

5. JustMe

JustMe Virtuoso

Jul 12, 2007

We have a great custodial staff as well. I've never been in a school so clean! The ladies at night are extra appreciated because they wash the blackboard (yeah, I know...who puts blackboards in new schools?) every single night and make them look brand new for each new day. Do you know what a giant relief it is knowing I have a "fresh canvas" every morning? So, making them some goodies is definitely a good idea. Because the ladies who do my board work late - until about a eleven I believe - I gave them a gift certificate to order in pizza. The bread sounds like a great gift! Anything to let them know how much they are appreciated. :)

6. mbfenner

mbfenner Rookie

Jul 12, 2007