Gifted and Talented

Discussion in 'General Education' started by MissH225, Jun 22, 2010.

1. MissH225

MissH225 Comrade

Jun 22, 2010

This past year I was a team teacher (2nd and 4th) at a school for identified gifted students. I really didn't find too much of a difference...there was still behavior issues, still different levels of kids in the class, etc. So now I may have an interview for a Gifted Teacher but I think it is more of a pull out thing to enhance their learning.....

Here's part of the job description:
    As a gifted & talented teacher you will help school committees identify high ability students and teach units developed to stimulate, educate, and interest students in areas not usually covered in regular classrooms.

What kind of things would I do for these kids? I know they will ask me how/what I'd teach to enhance their learning but really it's all stuff I'd do with any other kid by meeting them at their level....is this sounding right?

Also (sorry for long post) any book suggestions for teaching Gifted Kids? I never thought I'd have any interest in teaching these kids but this past year was amazing! :)

3. KinderCowgirl

KinderCowgirl Phenom

Jun 22, 2010

2 websites I'd recommend:

http://www.byrdseed.com/

http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/

The 1st will send e-mail updates if you sign up with them.

I'm not as familiar with the duties of a pull-out teacher because we have self-contained GT classes-but basically you are challenging the kids to go deeper into what they are learning. Identifying patterns in things like stories and science as opposed to just math. Seeing things from another perspective, comparing/contrasting 2 concepts. Getting them to think beyond the basic objective-make connections across the disciplines-apply what they are learning in various ways-projects, etc.