Getting their attention

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by MandySue530, Aug 22, 2007.

1. MandySue530

MandySue530 Rookie

Aug 22, 2007

How do you get thier attention when they are talking or working? I'm in a second/third grade combo and its my first year as a "head teacher" and I'm freaking out!

3. 3littlemonkeys

3littlemonkeys Comrade

Aug 22, 2007

I have a timer that I ring...an apple-shaped dial timer. If you turn it to a # of minutes, and then turn it back to zero, it goes off, and they all look up.

4. gab

gab Comrade

Aug 22, 2007

I use a timer sometimes. I might announce that they have a certain number of minutes and that the timer has been set. When it starts beeping, their job is to stop, look & listen or stop & organize depending on which direction I've given. If I asked they meet me at the floor spot or line up, they try to 'beat the beeping' which last 30 or so seconds.

I also turn off the light or send a student to turn off the light...they stop, look, and listen,

5. MissFroggy

MissFroggy Aficionado

Aug 22, 2007

Some others that you can use:

Ring a bell, some chimes, a rainstick, etc.
    Raise your hand and say "Give me Five" (Eyes looking, ears listening, mouths quiet, feet still, hands free)
    You say "1,2,3 Eyes on Me" they say "1, 2, Eyes on You."
    Count down from 5-1, expecting listening when you get to 1.
    Say "hands in the air, finger on your nose, etc." to get them to stop.
    Say "3, 2, 1 Freeze!" and they stop frozen in place.