Getting sick from the kids!!

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by TeacherGrl7, Dec 9, 2006.

1. TeacherGrl7

TeacherGrl7 Devotee

Dec 9, 2006

Hi Everyone!

I am a first year teacher, and right now I have 16 four-year-olds. I have already been sick 4 or 5 times and it's only December! I'm doing everything I can, washing my hands, eating healthy, taking vitamins, sleeping right, all the usual stuff, but my immunity has always been a little weakened to begin with. I feel like every time I kick something, somebody else has a sliiightly different version of it that I catch. I know that this is a normal thing that new teachers go through, I'm just wondering how long it took all of you until you started to become immune to all of their little diseases? I really can't take much more of this!!

3. MissWilliams

MissWilliams Rookie

Dec 10, 2006

TeacherGrl7--After years of working with 4 year olds, in a new placement it took me 3-4 mos.--and I tended to keep that immunity for awhile!:)

I'd add that continual reminders to the kiddos to wash, a lesson on germ transmission, plenty of tissues and demo-ing how to 'catch your cough/sneeze' is REALLY important.

I also utilize disinfectant (bleach solution) on door handles, etc. every day.......

Don't forget your oj, too!

4. hescollin

hescollin Fanatic

Dec 10, 2006

Here is a list of ideas:

Move the student’s wastebasket away from your desk. Keep a small one under your desk for you to use.

Crack a window a tiny bit for fresh air.

Plants are wonderful. Plilodendrom, Spider Plants and Wondering Jew are easy to grow.

Wash your hands often. Use anti-bacterial wipes or spray on the door knobs and wipe down student's desk everyday. Be sure and wipe their pencils. Put a bit of spray on their desk and give them a paper towel and let them clean before leaving each day.

Never use students pencils. Don't let students use your pencils or scissors.

Teach them to cough in their elbows, not on their hands.

Spray the room with Lysol.