Getting paid for summer workshops & training?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by ECE ABC, Jun 23, 2014.

1. ECE ABC

ECE ABC Comrade

Jun 23, 2014

Just curious...

Do all teachers get extra pay to attend these workshops and training in the summer months?

As a Para I only have one training (PMT refresher course) I must go to every year but its in October and I get paid for it because its after 3 o'clock, per our contract. The refresher is 3 hours.

I also get paid for the ''meeting'' we have before Summer School starts. That is included in our first summer paycheck.

Thank you:)

3. RainStorm

RainStorm Phenom

Jun 23, 2014

As a teacher, I do not get paid for workshops or training during the summer, or on the weekends or after school. If it is during regular workday, then a sub is provided by the school.

4. BioAngel

BioAngel Science Teacher - Grades 3-6

Jun 23, 2014

I can put in a summer grant that, if it is approved, my school will pay me to attend, as well as my expenses.

This summer I'm developing new curriculum for 2 of the grades that I teach- which includes lessons, obtaining materials, creating homework assignments and assessments, and updating my curriculum maps. For 5 days of work my school is paying me $1000 - but it looks like I might have to continue to work longer than 5 days and I won't be paid for that extra time. (I can complete the work at home.)

5. waterfall

waterfall Virtuoso

Jun 23, 2014

Sometimes my district will offer something that is paid. This summer there was a financial literacy class (1 day on your own financial literacy, 2 days on teaching it in your classes) that was paid. I would have been all over going to that, but it literally started on our first official day of summer. We have a really short summer and school got out 3 weeks later than usual, so I just couldn't bring myself to sign up for a class right away.