Getting out of the rut

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by Beth2004, Sep 20, 2006.

1. Beth2004

Beth2004 Maven

Sep 20, 2006

This is my first year teaching. I worked as a long-term sub for most of the school year last year so I do have a decent amount of classroom experience, but this is my first year in my own classroom. I'm teaching 3rd grade at a private school and prior to this had no experience with the curriculum we use (Beka-for those of you familiar with it).

In the past (as a student teacher and long-term sub) I planned A LOT of my own lessons. It was always based on the curriculum, but I used the pages in the book more as reinforcement for the activities that we did when I would introduce the topics. I've found myself really getting into a rut this year since school started, though. I think it's because I was so stressed out over setting up my classroom, getting things ready for the first day of school and learning the curriculum that when school finally started and I was teaching with the books it was like I could finally take a breather! All of the lessons are planned for you and it's really easy...plus since all of the parents buy the books I have no photocopying to do; we just rip the pages out!