Getting Noticed!

Discussion in 'Paraprofessionals' started by teresaglass, Oct 27, 2013.

1. teresaglass

teresaglass Groupie

Oct 27, 2013

How does the average para get noticed by administration and offered a position? How can beat just being average? Do they volunteer for extra duty or try to get into some of the school cliques. I feel really discouraged and depressed as a para. I am sure no one will hire me.:dizzy:

3. LouiseB

LouiseB Cohort

Oct 27, 2013

Do you mean that you are currently a para but would like to be hired as a certified teacher?

4. teresaglass

teresaglass Groupie

Oct 27, 2013

Yes I am currently a para. I am a certified teacher and was a special education teacher in the past. I am trying to get a chemistry authorization to teach science.

5. LouiseB

LouiseB Cohort

Oct 27, 2013

It doesn't work at my school.

6. DressageLady

DressageLady Comrade

Oct 31, 2013

My district has hired so many certified teachers for para positions that they have not had to open certified positions up to applicants outside the district for two hiring seasons. They can fill whatever openings they have through internal para applicants.

I am a certified teacher, but couldn't get hired this past summer. So I am working as a para, and planning on applying for teaching positions next year. There are about ten paras in my school, and more than half of us are certified teachers still wanting to teach.

I think every district is a little different in how they approach the issue. For us, the cardinal sin is to approach the para position as if it is less than a teaching position. If we accepted a para job, we are expected to treat it seriously. The pay off is the ability to get good recommendations and references from the principal and teachers we are working with and that all important internal applicant status.