Getting Nervous

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Mr.history, Jul 20, 2017.

1. Mr.history

Mr.history Cohort

Jul 20, 2017

So I mentioned before that I moved districts and schools this year. (as well as grade levels!)
    This week I have actually started setting up my classroom, meeting teachers, and continued planning (we start school on August 1st). I moved from a title 1 high school in a rural district to a metropolitan district in a very upscale part of town. As I get to know my school more and more I'm starting to get nervous. Not because of the people but because procedural things are so different. At my old school we did not co plan, have common assessments, create data notebooks, ect. We were pretty "old school" and I had a lot of success in that school. Now my head is spinning with all the new things I'm having to incorporate. I'm a 5th year teacher (I know still a newbie) but in some ways I'm feeling like I'm brand new.

I'm also moving from 11th grade US History to an 8th grade US History course that focuses on the state I live in. I'm not worried about the content because they are fairly similar but all these other changes have me a little concerned. Anyone ever move from a laid back district to a more involved one? I feel like all I've been doing is asking 100 questions a day to my coworkers.

3. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

Jul 20, 2017