Getting Kids to be Quiet

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Pacificpastime, Oct 13, 2010.

1. Pacificpastime

Pacificpastime Companion

Oct 13, 2010

Hello, I am new to AtoZ and am excited to learn from fellow teachers. I would like to know some of the various ways you get your class to be quiet. I have used many different ways over the years, but want to learn new ways that may be more effective. Thanks so much!

3. Momma C

Momma C Comrade

Oct 14, 2010

Don't "knock" the previous things that work. I teach 8th grade, and I use the "3 finger method." If kids are getting loud, I hold up one finger (a few quieten down), then the 2nd (more and more kids get quiet). Students know that anyone not being quiet after the 3rd finger receives a parent letter or discipline referral. So, I usually do not have to put the third finger up. Sounds nuts, but it works. Oh yea, I don't have to say a word during this. :D

4. Rabbitt

Rabbitt Connoisseur

Oct 15, 2010

"Clap once if you can hear me now.
    Clap twice if you can hear me now.
    Clap three times if you can hear me now."

By the end of the third, all is quiet and they can hear me.

5. jd123

jd123 Cohort

Oct 20, 2010

Proximity.
    Do you keep table points? Moving next to the board (marker ready) where you tally table points gets kids quiet.

6. prek176

prek176 Companion

Oct 21, 2010