Getting kids settled

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by filochica, Sep 2, 2008.

1. filochica

filochica Rookie

Sep 2, 2008

I am a student teacher in the 4th grade and my question is about how to get kids settled down when returning to the classroom. I bring the kids from lunch back to the room. Prior to lunch, they have had a special AND recess, so it takes a lot to get them quiet. I have tried telling them how 4th graders act as compared to 3rd graders and have a system where they get to put up a "gumball" (a sticker) on a large gumball machine cut-out. I have thought about turning out the lights as well to get their attention. Any suggestions from experienced teachers? Thanks.

3. cmw

cmw Groupie

Sep 2, 2008

I have seen teachers turn off lights & read to them. I used to do silent reading with quiet music after recess. :D

4. MuggleBug

MuggleBug Companion

Sep 2, 2008

Our schedule's so regimented that we have to start math right after recess and continue it right after their special. I hate it. I've always enjoyed doing a read-aloud right after recess (and allowing for drinks/bathroom). Can't do that here.

5. filochica

filochica Rookie

Sep 2, 2008

I should have mentioned- in the 20 minutes before they switch for their afternoon class, I have to get them to switch their books/take bathroom breaks/do cursive handwriting instruction and have them ready on time, but I am spending half that time just trying to get them to quiet down so they don't miss any directions.

6. cmw

cmw Groupie

Sep 2, 2008

Maybe have them get their books for the afternoon ready b-4 lunch. Then I'd have the handwriting ready to go...on the overhead or desks. Then as they enter they can get right to it. Those that are working can use the RR & get drinks first. You could still do quiet/ calming music in the background. If you have clipboards, those students that follow directions can grab a board & find a calm spot on the floor to work.

7. runsw/scissors