Getting into Subbing

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Peregrin5, Jul 9, 2017.

1. Peregrin5

Peregrin5 Maven

Jul 9, 2017

Hey guys. This upcoming year and possibly future years I plan to sub while I attend school for my graduate degree. My current class schedule will allow me to sub at most 2 days a week this semester.

Unfortunately, I have very little experience subbing or knowing how to become a sub. I kind of a became a classroom teacher right off the bat and did very little subbing. I did apply as a sub when I first got my credential because my mentor teacher wanted me to be able to sub for her if she needed to leave, and didn't do so often. I forgot how the process went and most basic things about it like:

1. Do they interview me to add me to the sub pool?
    2. If so, who will interview me?
    3. What are they looking for?
    4. How can I translate my classroom experiences into skills that they would find desirable in a sub?
    5. Anything I should refrain from saying that would be good for a classroom teacher but not good for a sub?
    6. Even though I know I'm only probably going to be able to sub 2 days out of the week for this semester, is it better if I say I am able to sub more often than that?
    7. All my experience is in teaching science and technology. How do I show them that I could be an effective sub for other subjects as well?

Also, any good books I should read in preparation for becoming a sub? Or good tips from those who have subbed extensively?

I imagine subbing is going to be a very different animal altogether than owning and managing my own classroom where I have the freedom to set my own structure, and the time to build relationships with students. Any tips?

3. CherryOak

CherryOak Companion

Jul 9, 2017

Of course you'll make a great sub! I feel like the blind leading the sighted, but I'll add what I can...