Getting hired after school starts?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by sweetmel, Aug 12, 2009.

1. sweetmel

sweetmel Rookie

Aug 12, 2009

I was wondering what people know/think about how often teachers are needed after school actually starts (or after the teachers go back next week.) In my area of Texas (a bit southeast of Houston), the districts keep their websites pretty well updated with job openings and there are none available anymore (I confirmed this by calling most of the districts as well.)

I'm an ACP student and my program director had told me before that most ACP students get hired between now and Labor Day... but is it really likely that some teachers will not show up or leave after school starts? It seems unlikely to me because they'd have to break their contracts and that seems like it would be terrible for their future job prospects.

Does anyone have any input on this? I know that it probably varies a lot from year to year and depending on the area, but I was just wondering if y'all had seen this happen much in the past. I'm so sad and worried that I'm not going to get a job this year :(

3. emmakate218

emmakate218 Connoisseur

Aug 12, 2009

Well, I don't think that's necessarily true about ACP students being hired after school starts because I wasn't an ACP student and I still don't have a job. My point is that there are still non-ACP teachers out there that don't have jobs yet. Not that every single time, a school will choose a non-ACP teacher over an ACP student, but ya know.

I think the schools are playing is safe this year with waiting until their enrollment numbers come in. If enrollment goes up, then they'll hire, but they may already have a fleet of teachers that were pink slipped waiting to re-gain a perm. position.

4. sweetmel

sweetmel Rookie

Aug 12, 2009