Getting Discouraged

Discussion in 'General Education' started by bmi568, Apr 16, 2014.

1. bmi568

bmi568 New Member

Apr 16, 2014

I graduated from college in December with a B.S.E. in elementary education. I have sent out at least 20 resumes and I have only gotten called twice for an interview. I'm strarting to panic about what I am going to do next year. I currently work as a paraeducator but I don't know what to do from here on out. Should I look into teaching somewhere outside of my state?

3. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

Apr 16, 2014

It has only been 3-4 months. On average, a new teacher spends at least 1 year subbing (or working in general) while looking for jobs. For some (few) it happens right away, but there are quite a few for whom it took 3 years or so to get a job. There are lot of teachers out there, many with experience, not that many jobs, so you have to be patient.

4. ScienceEd

ScienceEd Companion

Apr 16, 2014

I heard it takes a while. You just have to keep making those connections and networking. Sometimes its not always about just the things you know but the people you have impressed along the way.

5. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Apr 16, 2014

For some people, they do get interviewed and hired right away. For the vast majority, they have to wait. Many districts aren't looking at hiring until after state testing. Give it time, keep pushing applications and resumes and good luck!

6. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

Apr 16, 2014

First of all, it is very early to be getting discouraged about next year.

Second of all, last year I had 6 years of experience and a whole lot of unique trainings. I responded to over 300 (I stopped keeping track after a while) postings. I was interviewed by about 30 different districts. That is a 10% interview rate. You said you were interviewed twice with 20 resumes. For someone without experience, that is a pretty good percentage.

7. Mrs.DLC

Mrs.DLC Comrade

Apr 16, 2014