Getting Class' attention

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by MsCatherine, Feb 17, 2017.

1. MsCatherine

MsCatherine Rookie

Feb 17, 2017

Hello there,
    I am a student teacher hoping to hear some of your strategies for getting the class' attention. I really struggle with getting the noise level down at the start of class and during transitions; also it gets chatty sometimes while I am teaching. The students aren't speaking out to be rude or anything; they are a really sweet group but they just get talkative/ distracted at times.

I've been told many times that I need to be louder and more assertive. I was selectively mute as a child and I'm still really quiet now- I can project my voice, but I need to consciously remind myself and sometimes I'll get caught up in the lesson or get anxious, and then I forget or my throat tightens and I start to strain. When it's quiet students can hear me fine, but not when it's noisy. I've been working on being louder for a long time, and can't help but wonder if I'm just not doing something right, because I'm still too quiet. So any tips regarding effective use of voice would be super helpful!

I'd also really appreciate non-verbal strategies to couple with the use of my voice to get the class' attention. I clearly need that reinforcement. Anything that worked for you. Has anyone tried bringing in chimes or clapping? I'm not sure how it would work in a high school setting. But I'm willing to try different things and see what works for me.
    Thank you so much!

Secondary Teach likes this.
  3. DobbyChatt

DobbyChatt Rookie

Feb 17, 2017

I've never had much success with bells, claps, etc, but that is just me. At least in high school I ask the class to "wrap up conversations" and listen. After waiting a few seconds they usually can re-direct.