Getting Calls from Your Alma Mater

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by Ms. I, Aug 9, 2011.

1. Ms. I

Ms. I Maven

Aug 9, 2011

I got my undergrad & grad degrees from the same university. Ever since I graduated the 1st time in 1998, I'd get calls occasionally asking to donate $. I last attended in 2006. I'm still getting calls, the last one was tonight. I wonder for how many yrs do they still call the alumni.

Do you still get called from your alma mater?

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 9, 2011

Colleges and universities generally have annual giving campaigns. They will call you every year.

4. TamiJ

TamiJ Virtuoso

Aug 9, 2011

Mine used to call me too asking for donations. But, since I have upped and moved to Mexico, it sure cured those pesky calls. You could try something similar. It should eliminate the problem.

5. INteacher

INteacher Aficionado

Aug 9, 2011

year after year after year . . . . .:D

6. Blue

Blue Aficionado

Aug 9, 2011

Yep, and I graduated in 1971.

7. waterfall

waterfall Maven

Aug 9, 2011

Haha, Tami!

My university was calling my parent's house because they didn't have my cell number (nor will they ever). They kept trying to get us to sign up for "text alerts" and things while we were on campus, and I purposely never did it for reasons just like this. My mom told the person calling that she'd given them plenty of tuition money, and they needed to stop harrassing her. The person asked for my number so that they could call me, and my mom told them she'd take their number down and give it to me, and I'd call back if I wanted to (thanks mom!).

I did have a professor once that joked that the problem with the education department was that they never had any wealthy alumni to donate things- so true!

8. Ms. I

Ms. I Maven

Aug 9, 2011

Mine calls more than just once a yr!