Getting back into the profession after a long hiatus

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by irishtriplets, Jul 10, 2014.

1. irishtriplets

irishtriplets New Member

Jul 10, 2014

I graduated in 2000 and substituted for almost four years. I grew very frustrated with the job search, I was having to go back to waiting tables every summer when schools were on vacation. I got a full time job in a hospital, then had babies and spent even more time as a stay at home mom.

What a lesson in life! When I was substituting and looking for teaching jobs, I was very young and looked even younger. I was naive and my self confidence was low due to a bad student teaching experience and a horrible case of the "shy's". Some life experiences have only been a positive.

Now that my sons are older and in school themselves, I am looking to get back into the profession. I miss the classroom. I have to get my residency certificate, that's on my to do list for the next week. And I'd like to eventually get to the point of applying for full time positions. But I'm nervous, it's been a good while since I've put on my official teacher shoes. I wonder if the time away from the profession as well as an okay student teaching report will be a liability? I was advised to seek a redo on my student teaching but at the time I hated to cause trouble and was so relieved it was over, I wish I had now.

I feel much more confidant now in my ability to be a strong and inspiring teacher.

Any advice? I am quite overwhelmed.:dizzy:

3. MrsRed

MrsRed Rookie

Jul 10, 2014