Getting back in the field...can someone help?

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by Aspen, May 16, 2008.

1. Aspen

Aspen New Member

May 16, 2008

Hello Everyone, I am new to the site and think it is great!
    Here is my situation...
    I graduated way back in 2001 but have done nothing in the field with the exception of Subbing (1 year), and I have been tutoring independently. Throughout the years, I have wanted to go back, but never did. Every time I walk into a school (have 3 kids), I get this overwhelming feeling of envy wishing I was in the classroom.
    I am a Secondary Ed. English Major with a minor in Linguistics. I am endorsed to teach Middle School Language Arts and Social Science. I am Highly Qualified under NCLB (that is what the certification system states) in English (9-12), English as a Second Language, Journalism (9-12), Language Arts (1-8), Reading, Speech (9-12), Title 1 Remedial Reading. I have taken 1 class in pursuit of my master's in reading and plan on continuing that in the fall.
    So here are my questions (I would very much so appreciate it if anyone can help me out)...
    Am I dreaming to think I will get a job lol?
    The letters of reference I have are from way back in 2001, will those be considered? Should I use them or get new ones? I don't have any contacts in the field, so where should I seek them (the old one I have are very good)?
    There are quite a few positions available in my area (southwest suburb of Chicago) and I plan on filling out applications for most of them. Does anyone have any suggestions or advice? Please be honest!!
    Thanks Much

3. leighbball

leighbball Virtuoso

May 18, 2008