Getting away from weekly themes

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by DiscoveringMe, Nov 19, 2013.

1. DiscoveringMe

DiscoveringMe Rookie

Nov 19, 2013

Hello! I'm a newbie here, and to the world of teaching. I've searched the archives but so far have not found exactly what I'm looking for.

I teach two classes in a play-based, cooperative preschool (3's and 4's). There is one other teacher who created a weekly theme calendar that I follow for the most part. It seemed easiest to just follow along so we could share books, craft ideas, etc. However, now that I have been teaching since September, I'm filled with discontent over the "weekly theme" format and the daily class schedule in general. Most days, the kids play fantastically during the "free play" time, and I really hate to ring the clean-up bell and struggle to get everyone sitting for circle then line up for recess... Morning circle is usually fine -- I can read a book or sing or do the calendar -- but other gathering times and lining up times are tough. And I hate feeling so rushed to create curriculum on a new topic each week. I barely scratch the surface, then it's time to move on. Ocean animals? Really? One week? For my three-year-olds that only two days!! :|

So... I've been learning bits and pieces about emergent curriculum and project based learning, and it sounds wonderful. The kids regularly get very engaged in something during free time, and I'd love to just let them continue! Do we -need- a second or third circle time? If not, how do I transition from free play to recess (which most definitely -is- needed at some point)?