Getting away from the treasure box

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by gpsysngbrd, Jul 24, 2013.

1. gpsysngbrd

gpsysngbrd Companion

Jul 24, 2013

In two weeks I will start my new job as a VPK teacher. This isnt "my first time to the rodeo" as I was a Pre-K teacher in Illinois before I moved. In my old class I used coins that could be earned or taken away and then used as money to buy from the school store about once a month. Im not big on the tickets - I used that one year and always found myself saying "take out a ticket"...didnt like that.

While I do like my coin idea I'm considering something possibly less tedious for me...ESPECIALLY getting rid of the school store/treasure box idea. It tends to get expensive and I have to remember to do it.

If you have any ideas please share!

3. WaProvider

WaProvider Fanatic

Jul 24, 2013

In my full day/full year program...I loved using privileges as the reward. We didn't have the chore chart....we had privileges and if you were doing well...great. If you weren't doing well....try again. Anyway, now I am beginning a half day program and will be following this thread. I abhor the treasure box.

4. gpsysngbrd

gpsysngbrd Companion

Jul 28, 2013

Okay I might have hit on an idea but like most of my ideas I need help "fleshing it out". I've discovered Brag Tags! I've seen a lot of teachers use them to mark students achievements but I thought why not let my students earn them for positive behavior. Just generic designs and colors. Brag Tags I have found on the internet cost a lot of money for several class sets but I think I've figured out how to make my own.