Getting an interview

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by mivana, Dec 2, 2017.

1. mivana

mivana New Member

Dec 2, 2017

I am currently a student teacher and am hoping to land a full time position for the next school year. Based on all the research I have done, it seems as though the entire application process is online and most districts put on their HR page that they do not want any paper copies of resumes or cover letters sent to the schools, administrators, etc. However, since I will be a first year teacher I am afraid that since I have no experience, my online application will not stand out and that I will not even get an interview. I know that I am highly qualified and would be a great candidate, but without having a conversation with an employer I'm afraid that they would only see on paper that I have no teaching experience. What is proper protocol when it comes to contacting administrators in the district? Is it acceptable to send an email inquiring about open positions and stating my interest, or should I just apply online and leave it at that? What about stopping in to the schools in person? I am receiving conflicting information from my university supervisors, and am curious to know what is really acceptable out in the real job-seeking world!

3. Always__Learning

Always__Learning Comrade

Dec 2, 2017

It really depends on your context. Where I am speaking to administrators would have 0 impact because all hiring is done centrally and there are very specific rules guiding who gets an interview. I would suggest talking to teachers in your region, specifically teachers who have recently got jobs. The other thing to recognize that if getting a full time job immediately is possible depends on your context too. Where I am no one gets a job straight out of school - it takes years on the supply list to get a chance at an opening - but again that may be different in your region - talk to local teachers and people who have been hired recently.