Getting a portfolio together

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by NCP, Jan 1, 2006.

1. NCP

NCP Comrade

Jan 1, 2006

I have let mine slip for the past two years and am in the process of getting it together for the upcoming hiring season. Aside from certificates, transcripts and resume, what other artifacts can I include? Thanks for your input!
    Nancy :)

3. leighbball

leighbball Virtuoso

Jan 1, 2006

I included any evaluations I had, letters from school districts where I worked as a sub, letters of recommendation, copies of awards that I had won, really good lesson plans (with reflections), student work samples, pictures, if appropriate, and information on my community service (pamphlets from the fire dept, letters, pictures, etc).

My portfolio had about 8 divisions to it (with the tabs). If you want any other specific info on what I had, let me know...I'm at my bf's and the portfolio is at home:)

4. NCP

NCP Comrade

Jan 1, 2006

Thank you Leighball. I will let you know. This gives me a great starting point. I also have two papers I wrote as a grad student, do you think I should include those?

5. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jan 1, 2006

I don't think I'd include the grad papers. Many prospective employers just give the portfolios a cursory glance- which is irritating considering all of the thought people put into them!! I've heard of people leaving the portfolios behind to let the administrator peruse after the interview just to have it lost in the paper shuffle later..... Leighbball's suggestions are great. At least with a portfolio, all of your 'stuff' is in one organized place- that's why I like it- I've actually had to go back in and get stuff to copy for my record/the state/NCLB even though I've been in my district for 6 years!!

6. leighbball

leighbball Virtuoso

Jan 1, 2006