Getting a job with no experience

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by crazycatlady80, Apr 16, 2015.

1. crazycatlady80

crazycatlady80 Rookie

Apr 16, 2015

After a lot of thinking and soul searching, I have decided I want to teach special education. I was a special ed student myself growing up and I look at it as a way of giving back. I would like to enroll in an internship at a CSU this fall. Ideally, I would like to teach in LAUSD. The only problem is that have very little experience. I started volunteering in a SPED classroom (all kinds of students - special day, resource, high functioning autism) and hope to have completed over 200 hours by the end of the year. I also tutor a teenager whose a high-fuctioning autistic. I haven't done any subbing, because I'm in the process of taking the CBEST? Do you think I have a chance of getting a job next year? My university advisor felt it wasn't going to be any problem, but want to know other's thoughts on this topic.

3. Nate

Nate Companion

Apr 17, 2015

Nobody has any experience until they get experience. There should be some classroom experiences attached to the program you get your certificate through, and the stuff your doing already is great.

Besides that, having been on the other side of SpEd is a valuable insight that most applicants won't have. I'd consider that "experience".

4. bison

bison Habitué

Apr 17, 2015

LAUSD is hiring a ton of teachers this year, and there are always more jobs in special ed. As long as you do student teaching and have a couple related things on your resume, I think you'll be fine. Things are really starting to turn around in SoCal. If you don't get a job, standard procedure is to start subbing and continue applying until you do. Then you'll have more experience as well.

5. crazycatlady80

crazycatlady80 Rookie

Apr 22, 2015