Getting a job is impossible

Discussion in 'Debate & Marathon Threads Archive' started by chiilo, Aug 9, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chiilo

chiilo Rookie

Aug 9, 2012

I'm a 25 year old graduate with a teaching certificate.

I'm becoming very depressed with my life because I spent so much money on school and becoming a teacher and I can't find a job. I've never so much as even gotten an interview.

Everyone keeps telling me to sub to "get my foot in the door" but there is no way I can sub and support myself financially. (I'm 100% on my own and I need my full-time job at a daycare to cover my expenses.) If I did sub, I would have to somehow find a part-time job on the side and with the economy right now, quitting my full-time position to look for something else is a huge, unsafe gamble.

I'm frustrated and a bit jaded. Seems like "unless you know someone", you don't get jobs or interviews in the teaching field.

I guess I went into this a little naive, thinking the best person for the job is interviewed and chosen, but obviously this is NOT the case and its all a huge game I don't know how to play.

I continue to apply for external positions in my district but obviously i've never heard back.

Do I just give up on teaching at this point? :unsure:

3. Mathemagician

Mathemagician Groupie

Aug 9, 2012

You do not.

Have you posted your cover letter or resume for feedback?

What subject/grade level are you looking to teach?

What area are you in, and are you willing to move?

There are threads upon threads like this, and the advice is generally the same; however, if you are a science or math or special education teacher looking for a job, the problem is probably just tweaking the old resume. On the other hand if you are, say, elementary or secondary social studies, you may also have to consider moving or looking in less desirable places for work.

I never subbed a day in my life nor did I know someone.

4. Mrs.DLC

Mrs.DLC Comrade