Getting a job in another state

Discussion in 'General Education' started by GageGirl15, Mar 20, 2016.

1. GageGirl15

GageGirl15 Rookie

Mar 20, 2016

Hi everyone!
    To start off, let me say that I'm not a teacher.. yet :) I will be begin to get my alternative teaching certificate in Arizona this summer (or fall)! I want to go into elementary education.

I have to stay in Arizona with my parents, since I have yet to get a good job to live on my own. I graduated with a Bachelor's in Business Management last year. I'm 22 years old. I have decided to pursue a teaching certification, and go on to get my Master's in the future, because I realized that being a teacher is something I have wanted to do since I was little.

My plan is to obtain my certification and do some student teaching while in Arizona. I wish to relocate to Colorado to teach full time.

My question is -- How do I do that? I need to land a job first before I relocate for financial stability. I would be able to make the move, but I need to go right into teaching. How do you get a teaching job out of state? Do you use connections? Do you simply apply with good references? Should I gain a couple years of teaching experience in Arizona before I try to get a job out of state? I would just like to know what the best options are, as I wish to settle in Colorado :)

Anything helps! Thank you :)

3. GageGirl15

GageGirl15 Rookie

Mar 20, 2016

Also, I am aware that I would need to get my certification transferred to Colorado and take all of their necessary tests/background checks

4. waterfall

waterfall Virtuoso

Mar 20, 2016