General questions/advice!?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by unicorns4ever, Jun 18, 2014.

1. unicorns4ever

unicorns4ever New Member

Jun 18, 2014

Hello out there!

I've never posted here before, but I've read so many threads as of late and gathered some good information. I still have some questions/frustrations - hopefully someone on here will be able to help me out!

My situation: I graduated from an excellent state college with an excellent education program in Dec. 2011. Majored in Early Childhood Education, though I am also certified in History and English. I had a really good GPA (3.56, with probably a 3.9 something in my major), and I did my student teaching overseas. Since I graduated in the middle of the year - and during a terrible hiring time - I spent Jan-May 2012 being a nanny. Couldn't find a teaching job for '12-'13, so I was a tutor and worked part-time retail. Had tons of trouble finding a job for '13-'14, but finally found a job teaching Pre-K at the last minute. Pre-K is NOT my niche. I took it because I desperately needed a job. Fast forward to March/April of this year, and I decide not to sign my contract because 1) I disliked teaching Pre-K, 2) I disliked my principal, and 3) I disliked the county in which I was teaching.

I am now applying for jobs in the county in which I live. I've had two interviews so far, but nothing. One school I thought was a sure thing because I know a teacher there, she talked to the principal about me, and she gave me lots of info for the interview. Now, I'm sending out e-mails every day to principals/asst. principals, whether or not they have job openings posted on the county website.

Not only am I frustrated because it's so hard to even get an interview, but even the job postings on the website frustrate me. One will be posted, then taken down within an hour. Does anyone know why that is?