Future Administrator

Discussion in 'General Education' started by newengltchr, Apr 24, 2015.

1. newengltchr

newengltchr Rookie

Apr 24, 2015

Hi, all,

I am currently a first-year English teacher and, although I love what I do, I have always had a strong interest in becoming an administrator, particularly an assistant principal. Most people I speak with are in support of this, but others think it is the "wrong move" because I would be "crossing over to the other side" or because I am "too young."

Of course, I plan to teach for a while because I know this is an important component in becoming an effective admin.; without any experience, admin. typically do not understand what it's like to be in the classroom. I, however, do not believe that age should be a determining factor. I've seen plenty of extremely effective admin. with less than five years of teaching experience, and I've seen extremely poor admin. with more than twenty years of teaching experience.

When it comes to my skill sets and interests, they are much more aligned with administrative responsibilities than anything else. I am very curious about what you think when it comes to a young teacher wanting to "cross over." Also, if there are any administrators reading this forum, do you have any advice?

I'm planning to begin my master's in educational leadership next summer, and I plan to pursue my doctorate in ed. policy and leadership thereafter. Do your administrators hold degrees in these specialized fields?

3. agdamity

agdamity Fanatic

Apr 24, 2015

While I don't necessarily think age matters, I do think experience does. How can one evaluate effective teaching if they haven't been in the classroom long enough to develop an extremely large toolbox of effective strategies?

4. newengltchr

newengltchr Rookie

Apr 24, 2015

I completely agree with you. Thanks for your input! :)

5. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Apr 25, 2015

I agree completely.