Fundraising in public schools

Discussion in 'General Education' started by alabama, Mar 15, 2016.

1. alabama

alabama Rookie

Mar 15, 2016

What are your thoughts about fundraising in public school?

When I was a student many years ago, I remember the teachers got hit up to buy a lot of stuff, and many of the teachers did. I always felt bad as a student because I knew that they got hit up a lot and didn't think we were supposed to try to sell to them.

Like it? Hate it?

3. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Mar 15, 2016

I'm a constant mark for Girl Scout cookies, but otherwise I always avoid fundraising. I've never been asked by students to buy anything else. I wouldn't buy Girl Scout cookies, but I'm going to buy them anyway, so might as well let one of my students get the rewards.

I don't think it's appropriate for students to try selling to teachers.

4. mathmagic

mathmagic Enthusiast

Mar 15, 2016

Surprisingly, I've never been asked by anyone - and I certainly wouldn't mind someone selling GS cookies to me right now :p

That being said, it seems to be a slippery slope, and when it could affect the relationships/interactions within the classroom, it doesn't seem completely appropriate. It's a tough one, though. I'd probably hem and haw over it! Perhaps it could be "okay" if you set a specific amount in mind that you knew you'd be okay with putting towards each student (i.e. supporting students' fundraising up to $3 each, for example), so that it would be equitable, but even then...I'd be worried about district policies and such.

5. Backroads

Backroads Aficionado

Mar 15, 2016

Huh. I've actually asked one of my girls in Girl Scouts to bring in an order form.

I personally don't mind fundraisers because I have little trouble saying no thanks to a kid (yeah, I'm evil). But more often than not I'm more than happy to buy a couple of pizzas or some cookies.

6. otterpop

otterpop Aficionado

Mar 15, 2016