ftce english 6-12 essay

Discussion in 'Multiple Subject Tests' started by gumby611, Apr 21, 2016.

1. gumby611

gumby611 Rookie

Apr 21, 2016

Does anyone have suggestions for the essay portion of the ftce english 6-12? I am re-taking it on Friday and so nervous.

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Apr 21, 2016

Hugs, gumby611. How well versed are you in the terminology of literary analysis?

4. gumby611

gumby611 Rookie

Apr 21, 2016

I am well versed in literary analysis, I have a degree in English. I freeze up during essay tests, even when I was in school. I think I failed last time beccause I didn't discuss terms, and was all over the place with my cirtical analysis. I analyzed a poem, and can't even remember the poem or what I wrote! Poetry can be hard so this time I am going to choose the short story passage.
    Any advice?

5. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Apr 21, 2016

Take the test as though you're teaching someone else how to take it: imagine as vividly as possible that it's this other poor schlock who's on the hot seat, and you're there to give counsel.

taitinhte likes this.
  6. gumby611

gumby611 Rookie

Apr 21, 2016

That's good advice! Thanks, I am also studying literary terms as you said earlier. Still nervous and the worst part is that if you fail, you have to wait 30 days before you can take again.

taitinhte likes this.
  7. JennyP

JennyP New Member

Apr 23, 2016

Out of curiosity, did you pass the multiple choice portion? I just took the exam today and passed multiple choice; I'm sure I will be waiting quite awhile for results on my essay. This was an extremely difficult exam to prepare for!

8. Lit Girl

Lit Girl Rookie

May 2, 2016