Frustration

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by cristin11, Jun 21, 2010.

1. cristin11

cristin11 Rookie

Jun 21, 2010

I graduated from college almost 7 months ago. I've been on many different interviews that all resulted in the same "No thanks, we like you, but you don't have enough experience." So, here I am, working a desk job (and believe me, I'm happy I have a job, just not happy that I can't be in a classroom) and feeling like a failure.

I'm preparing myself for August, when, once again, I won't have a job. Most of the parishes around me (and even further west) have already hired their allotment of teachers. I believe that in the elementary department, there were only a hand full of jobs open this summer. So, my question is, what do I do?

I feel like I'm in a sticky situation. I have a good job where I'm at. I have insurance, I'm comfortable here. But, this doesn't afford me any extra teaching experience. Subbing is almost a non option, as there were soooo many layoffs in the last few years that those teachers are now subs and there is an overflow of subs in the area (we have to go through a company, we're not allowed to just go into a school asking to be a sub). Consequently, there are no paraprofessional jobs either.

I wanted to tutor, but work doesn't let out til 5, and I can't leave any earlier. I feel like if I leave this job, I won't have health insurance (and private insurance turned me down because I have asthma). Grrr! I just wish I could get a job!!!!!

3. melissa803

melissa803 Comrade

Jun 21, 2010

I feel your pain! I'm right there with you except I have experience, just not in this state where you seem to have to know somebody. I've been networking like crazy lately, but there are so many districts that just don't have any openings.