Frustrated

Discussion in 'General Education' started by mmath1212, Feb 1, 2008.

1. mmath1212

mmath1212 Rookie

Feb 1, 2008

First of all I am not giving up on this profession, but I am starting to understand why there are a lot of people that leave teaching after 5 years. I'm also starting to understand why the first year is all about survival. I'm not sure I'm going to survive, but I'm going to try. I had a student's mother come to my principal and say that her child told me about another student harrassing her and I didn't do anything about it. I would never not do something if a student told me they were being harassed. This child is very quiet and so I wonder if I misunderstood what she was trying to tell me. The same allegation was made against our counselor and she says the same thing, that the child never mentioned being harrassed. This just really sucks that this is happening my first year of teaching. I know I'm a good teacher in a lot of ways, but then I wonder if I can handle all the "stuff" that comes with this profession. I won't give up. I just hope I'm not forced to give up my dream because of something I misunderstood or what may very well be a fabrication on the part of the parent.

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Feb 1, 2008

I was told my first year by a father that I shouldn't have become a teacher and should have chosen a different field. I had to have someone watch my class because he did it first thing in the morning as the students were coming in, and I had to go cry to the principal. Luckily I had a very supportive admin. Then my second year teaching, I had a parent start in on me the first month of school and she didn't really ever let up. That put a mark on me as far as admin was concerned and they were not as supportive. As each year goes by, I find my skin grows thicker and thicker. Hang in there! Don't let a parent steer you from your dream.

4. shouldbeasleep

shouldbeasleep Enthusiast

Feb 1, 2008