Frustrated

Discussion in 'Middle School / Junior High' started by trtls329, Dec 13, 2012.

1. trtls329

trtls329 Rookie

Dec 13, 2012

I am a 4th-year teacher but this is my first year at this school. I teach 8th grade. I have had so many issues this year with constant talking while I am teaching. I have heard a few times from different teachers that the behavior isn't bad but "they're a little chatty". I feel like this has become acceptable to so many teachers! At my old school, this wasn't a major issue, but I have yet to figure out what will work with middle school kids. We have very few consequences from above, which makes discipline even more difficult. Until this year, I have felt like my classroom management is pretty good. How can I improve what I'm doing for the next semester???

3. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

Dec 13, 2012

Sometimes I wait my kids out. I tell they "Oh- you're choosing extra homework today!" What we don't get done, they take home. I usually only have to threaten and they stop chatting.

4. mikemack42

mikemack42 Companion

Dec 14, 2012

Teaching my kids a signal when I want their attention has been helpful. I say Give Me 5 (1- eyes on me, 2- no talking, 3- whole body still and facing me, 4- everything out of your hands, 5- listening), and expect them to be quiet by the end of it. If they are not quiet, I go through it again. I'm sure there are lots of other signals you can use.

In my experience, upping the ante on punishment does not work, and can often make things worse. Be honest with them and tell them you teach better, which means they will learn more, if you can speak to them without being interrupted. If they don't know why they should care if they learn more, give them a list of reasons your subject is important and review it with them.

Hope that's helpful, good luck.

5. readingrules12

readingrules12 Aficionado

Dec 15, 2012