Frustrated with classroom management :(

Discussion in 'General Education' started by teacher_cc, Apr 22, 2009.

1. teacher_cc

teacher_cc Rookie

Apr 22, 2009

I'm a first year teacher in 3rd grade. I've got two problems and I'm not sure what strategies will work. I've tried numerous things, but if anyone else has any ideas PLLLLEASE share! For the most part I feel like I'm pretty stern and the students KNOW what my expectations are; however, I have a few boys in my classroom that either constantly call out, and one who has ADHD that cannot sit in his seat whatsoever. I am in dire need of ideas......

3. Ceyber

Ceyber Rookie

Apr 22, 2009

Seeing as how it's almost May, and school ends in 8 weeks, start thinking about next year :)

Starting properly, with a good set of expectations and consequences will make the rest of the year much easier. In the interim, in my class calling out repeatedly = name on board, and then 45 minutes after school if they continue. The ADHD child should be given time to work, and time to move around - he finishes a few questions, he gets a bit of a break, etc.

All that being said, start properly next year, remember your mistakes this year, and you're good :)

4. PowerTeacher

PowerTeacher Comrade

Apr 22, 2009

Actually, I think you can make some in roads this year. Look into Power Teaching. It is right up the alley of your problems.

5. darkangel

darkangel Companion

Apr 23, 2009

Its April and I started 123 Magic and love it! It's kind of what I already did but more clear to the kids. I am loving it. I also started a little Power Teaching and the kids love it! When I saw it online I thought it looked chaotic but the kids are so involved its great. It makes me want to do more of it. I figure try it out now so I can work the kinks out for next year.

6. ArizonaTchr72

ArizonaTchr72 Companion

Apr 23, 2009

What is 123 Magic?

7. darkangel

darkangel Companion

Apr 23, 2009