Frustrated, hurt, and thinking of changing careers

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by koop, Aug 30, 2008.

1. koop

koop Rookie

Aug 30, 2008

I went into teaching because I wanted to make a difference and help kids who struggle, and now here I am again trying to land a full time position after three years of trying and three full years of subbing, and one year of working as a part tinme AIS Teacher. I think I want out of this career. I hear of people getting a job right out of school with their bachelors degree. I have my masters degree and this doesn't help. I can't even get a job in a daycare teaching preschool because I am over qualified. Can anyone explain why. This is beyond frustrating. It is a major turn-off. :(

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Aug 30, 2008

I know how you are feeling, because I'm feeling the same way. I have my Bachelor's in education, have started my Masters in Curriculum&Instruction, have subbed, and have 2 years teaching experience (kinder and 2nd grade), and I am having a hard time getting a job as well. The teacher shortage is a myth unless your in math, science, or sped (and even this is saturated in most areas). Teachers are not retiring at the rate predicted because of the economy and colleges are cranking out teachers as fast as they were before so we have several teachers applying for a low number of teaching positions.

I know its tough and frustrating, but if you truly want to teach, I would keep at it. I have often thought about what else I would want to do if I couldn't get a teaching job, but I can't see myself doing anything else. So I do what I must to get a job.

4. spedteach

spedteach Rookie

Aug 30, 2008