Frustrated and Drowning :(

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by CreativeTeachR, Nov 13, 2013.

1. CreativeTeachR

CreativeTeachR Companion

Nov 13, 2013

Quick background info- I have been teaching this age group for about 4 years now. I started my career in a day care center, went to a catholic school got fired for being a lesbian and ended up in a school readiness program last year. I left that program in June and found a new job in August for this school year (where I am now!)... When I got hired they did not lay down what the hell I was in for!!! I REALLY wish they would because its like a bad nightmare you can't wake up from!

Why your probably asking!!! This is why!

Its a head start, special ed and community program!!! All three groups mixed in one class... Now that may not sound like a lot but I have 30 kids (15 in am and 15 in pm) and I am responsible for head start- paperwork beyond paperwork, home visits 2x a year, and following their horrible curriculum! No one seems to be able to get into the gray area of this collaborative. I am not employed by head start, but I have them observing me and evaluating me and telling me what to do and what i can't do! I only have 7 head start kids!!!

Special Ed- I have about 9 IEP kids in my class. This is my first year teaching special ed! I've never done PPT's or IEP's until now. My mentor for the year is a 4-5 grade teacher and has never taught pre-k. So frustrated because I don't get enough support and the administrators don't even understand what we do in class! I have ASD kids with no support they hardly get the services on their IEP's. I know that education is going towards mainstream, but there is that gray area in between. :blush: Maybe I'm just not cut out to be a special ed teacher...