Frustrated and Discouraged =(

Discussion in 'Job Hunting & Interviews' started by sweet81, Jan 16, 2007.

1. sweet81

sweet81 Rookie

Jan 16, 2007

Hi,
    I'm from NY and I got my Master's Degree in Elementary Ed. I moved to FL about 2 years ago. I have been flying back and forth to take the CST Elem Ed Test. This is the 2nd time I took it and failed by 5 points. I don't know what the problem is. When is enough enough?? My friends and family keep telling me "don't give up" because of all the hard work I put into 5 years of school to get my MA...but I just don't think they really understand. I want to teach soooo bad. The CST exam is the last one I have to take before I get my NY License and I can't seem to figure out why it's taking me so long. I don't really know what I'm asking for here...but I guess I just wanted to put my thoughts out there and see if anyone had any advice or something. Currently, I am working Full time for a really good company...not teaching related..but it's not where my heart is..I want to be in a classroom. I want my License!! Do you think I should keep fighting for my license in ny and take the CST test again??
    I'm soo upset...my body is numb at this point. I don't know what to do..what to think...how to feel... Why does it have to be this hard?? =(

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jan 16, 2007

WEll, this is no consolation, but so many things we value ARE hard.

Now, to practicalities. I know nothing of the CST exam-- I received permanent cert before it came in. (One of the priveledges of being OLD!) But if you failed by 5 points, then you ARE capable of doing this.. the 3rd time is bound to be the charm

In the meantime, have you considered private/religious schools? You technically don't need certification to work there. So why not apply all over, and see what happens?

Hang in there; it WILL all work out for you!

4. JaimeMarie

JaimeMarie Moderator

Jan 16, 2007