From teacher aide to teacher assistant

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by Kandyland, Jan 10, 2019.

1. Kandyland

Kandyland New Member

Jan 10, 2019

Hello! I've been working at Head Start as a Pre-K classroom aide for 3 years and I absolutely loved my job, the 3-5 year olds and the teacher and assistant I worked with! However. I needed something full time and year round, and I got news that I'll be working as a Pre-K Teacher Assistant at an Early Learning center! Very excited and nervous all at once. My question is are Early learning centers like Head Start, or completely different? Any tips or advice from switching up from aide to assistant? Thank you!

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jan 10, 2019

What’s the difference?

4. MissCeliaB

MissCeliaB Aficionado

Jan 11, 2019

Where I worked in ECE, the distinction was that teachers/coteachers/teacher assistants had specialized training, and we counted towards ratio. Also, we had diapering training, so we could do that part of the job. Most of us had our CDA or bachelor's degree. We also had aides. They would help with classroom management, passing out materials, clean up, reading one on one to kids, etc. But, they were not licensed for diapering, and did not count toward ratio. They typically floated from room to room. (One aide was licensed, and he made a little more money, and also provided coverage for breaks for teachers.) I'm not sure if that's true everywhere, but that was the distinction in the area where I worked.

SpecialPreskoo likes this.
  5. ChildWhisperer

ChildWhisperer Groupie

Jan 13, 2019

Head Start is pretty different than normal preschools and daycares.
    They are meant for low income families so they do a lot more activities for parents and try to involve them and educate them more.
    Is your new position at a tuition based school or public school or is it part of a daycare?

6. Kandyland

Kandyland New Member

Jan 24, 2019

It's part of a daycare. Its a Pre-K position

7. ChildWhisperer