From pre-k to third grade in a matter of days - help!

Discussion in 'Third Grade' started by emmakate218, Sep 8, 2008.

1. emmakate218

emmakate218 Connoisseur

Sep 8, 2008

Hey y'all! I just found out today that because of the needs of the district and blah blah blah, I've been reassigned to teach third grade at a different school than I'm at now. I student taught in third grade so I have some experience, but with so many things reeling in my head with the shock of this news, I was wanting to get some advice from third grade teachers. Tell me anything you think a new third grade teacher should know. I don't even know if the classes are self-contained or departmentalized! I was told late this afternoon so didn't have time to get many details. Any advice?

3. MissB

MissB Companion

Sep 9, 2008

Hi,
    I am in the exact same boat! I have been teaching kindergarten for a few years and now I am being transferred to another school to teach third. I don't have a clue! I have never been in a third grade room, so I'm looking forward to what others have to say about third grade. HELP!
    Good luck emmakate,
    Jamie

4. emmakate218

emmakate218 Connoisseur

Sep 10, 2008

Great to see that someone else in the same boat! It's my first year teaching, but I did student teach in third grade this past March through May. I'm pretty sure my first day with my new class is this Monday. What about you?

5. MissB

MissB Companion

Sep 11, 2008

Hi,
    I'm still not sure. We are waiting to hear from the school committee. My principal is trying to put forth other proposals in hopes she can keep all staff. We'll see...

Good luck! Will you have time to prepare your room?

6. JaimeMarie

JaimeMarie Moderator

Sep 11, 2008

That stinks that you both have to change schools and go to 3rd grade YUCK!

7. MelissainGA

MelissainGA Groupie

Sep 11, 2008