From Para to Teacher

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by futureteacher13, Apr 21, 2018.

1. futureteacher13

futureteacher13 Rookie

Apr 21, 2018

Hello Everyone,

I am currently a middle school Paraprofessional, and have been for the past 8 years. I am wanting to become an elementary school teacher this upcoming August. I have a Master of Education degree in Elementary Education and a Bachelor's degree in Social Science with an Education Concentration. I am eligible to receive my Temporary Certificate in Elementary Education Grades K-6.

Throughout my years as a Paraprofessional, I have worked in Physical Education, and have covered (substituted) in many different subject areas including ELA, Mathematics, Science, Social Studies, Agriculture, and Health. I have also covered (substituted) with the Physical Education classes I work in as well.

My question is: As someone who wants to teach elementary school, will it be a difficult transition, seeing that I have worked primarily with middle school students the bulk of my career in education? Throughout my Master's program, I observed in classrooms with Grades KG, 1st, 3rd, 5th, 6th, ELL, and Physical Education. I also taught lessons for students in Grades 1 (English Language Arts) and 5 (Mathematics). Teaching elementary school has been a passion of mine for a while, although I thought I wanted to teach middle school. I know I will not be perfect as a teacher, nor am I trying to be, but I want to be the best teacher I can be for my students. Any thoughts or suggestions would be great? Thank you so much for your input.

3. Master Pre-K

Master Pre-K Virtuoso

Apr 21, 2018

Be yourself...nobody’s perfect;)

I started as a TA/para too. Also subbed before and after student teaching.

This is a great resource for questions and support!

Based on your summary of experience, I believe you will be a great teacher.