From College Teaching to Elementary School Teaching

Discussion in 'General Education' started by MATThematical, Apr 3, 2015.

1. MATThematical

MATThematical Rookie

Apr 3, 2015

Hi all!

Since 2009, I have been teaching college mathematics. I have a Master's in math and am currently an adjunct at a community college and university.

Up to this point thus far, I haven't gotten a full-time position and the outlook is not rosy. Thus, I'm starting to look at other options.

For various reasons, I would like to avoid teaching high school math. I enjoy working with kids and have been inspired in the opportunities to teach my two school-age nephews while talking with them in a regular conversation.

Does anyone here have experience in going from teaching college to teaching elementary school, or do you know anyone who has? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I have a Master's, but not a credential, so getting a Multiple-Subject credential would be a necessary step.

3. The Natural Log

The Natural Log Rookie

Apr 3, 2015

I know you said you would like to avoid high school math, but I teach high school math and adjunct at my local CC, and they are more similar than you would think. The only difference is that at the CC, I don't have to deal with parents. I have done an after school program before at our elementary school for gifted math students, and I could never do that full time. I would imagine it would be quite the shock to you, especially teaching other subjects. The elementary students were very hard for me to control (maybe because it was an after school program, but they were still gifted kids who you would expect to be easier to control), whereas in my HS and CC, classroom management has been a breeze for me.

4. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Apr 4, 2015