From 5th to Kinder

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by readysetscholar, May 29, 2015.

1. readysetscholar

readysetscholar New Member

May 29, 2015

Hello everyone! I am a second year teacher and I have loved my time in 5th grade. Recently I have accepted a position at a different school for Kindergarten. This school offers better opportunities, but my heart has always been in upper grades. I have no experience with Kinder.

Any advice on how to transition? What are the major differences? Thanks! Also, any Kinder teachers who love their grade and can convince me I will as well!! LOL Just nervous! :dizzy:

3. miss-m

miss-m Devotee

May 29, 2015

That is going to be a HUGE jump. 5th graders are pretty independent and the content is more demanding, where as Kindergarten is still very much learning basic life skills like tying shoes and going to the bathroom and recognizing letters. 5th graders also have a much longer attention span, while K involves changing subjects every 15 minutes or so because they literally cannot sit and focus much longer than that.

BUT. Kindergarteners are lots of fun, they're really cute, and you will have LOTS of hilarious stories to tell (because the younger kids are, the more hilarious things they say in my experience).

4. Missy

Missy Aficionado

May 29, 2015

Are you all day K or half day?

If you can, I would recommend reading The Daily Five and see if that will work for you.

5. otterpop

otterpop Aficionado

May 29, 2015

I student taught kindergarten. I found it entertaining and tiring. My mentor teacher was really good at being dramatic and putting on a show to gain their attention. That was hard for me. You have to be "on" all the time - there is no downtime in a day and they will always want to talk to you or show you what they're doing. The kids were so darn cute. They also will come to you at a huge variety of levels - some will be beginning readers while others have never opened a book and know no letters.