Freecycle hates me

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by Pisces_Fish, Jun 14, 2009.

1. Pisces_Fish

Pisces_Fish Fanatic

Jun 14, 2009

I've had nothing but issues with freecycle. Last summer they refused my request for membership because I said I was a first year teacher looking for things for my classroom :confused:

I decided to try again this year using a different email. This time I got in. I made my first post today (my other was a post offering 25 brand new binders I don't need.) My first post was this:

Someone gave me a very nice printer to use in my classroom, however, it's missing the electrical cord. I've been carting my own printer cord with me to and from school but it's such a hassle. If anyone has an HP printer electrical cord (I think they're pretty basic and will all fit) that you can give away, please contact me. Thanks!

Their response:

Thank you for using Freecycle. Unfortunately, your message cannot be approved at this time. Listed below are some of the more common reasons for rejecting a message.

1. Subject line should read: "WANTED: item" This makes it easier for our members to quickly sort and scan the messages. Then Include your "general area".

2. Remove live web links, sig lines, advertising.

3. Wait 30 days prior to the reposting a Wanted message; no more than one Wanted message per day.

4. Limit your message to a specific item, or a couple of related items (pots and pans, towels and washcloths). No requests to furnish a home, nursery, wedding, etc. or Wants such as "anything for a baby, cowboy-themed birthday party, toys for a 6-year-old," etc. In other words, be specific.

5. Personal or commercial services may not be requested on Smithfield Freecycle(TM).

6. No requests for charitable donations.

7. Remove references to financial difficulties, personal hardship, etc. A sense of humor is okay, tugging at heartstrings is not. People give something because they have it to give, not because they feel sorry for you.