Free master degree!

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by Hey, Feb 12, 2007.

1. Hey

Hey New Member

Feb 12, 2007

hey all,

i am very new to this, i hope it works. right now i am finishing up my BFA in art education at pratt institute in brooklyn, ny. i want to get my masters degree in special education.

1) my first question is how do i go about getting my masters degree free? i've heard depending on where you teach and how long you teach in a school, that school pays for you to get you masters degree. is this true or false?

2) Should i work wait a year to get my masters, get my masters and then work when i finish or should i work and get my masters at the sametime?

3) can anyone recommend an afford but good (community) college

:thanks:

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Feb 12, 2007

Hi and welcome.

I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but...

In NY, a Masters is required for Permanent Certification. Therefore I know of no school that will pay you to earn one, since you'll need one anyway.

Nassau Community College on LI has a great reputation. But, like most community colleges, you can only get up to an AA/AS there-- no graduate degrees as far as I know.

Have you tried Queeens College? I know a number of people who went there and I hear it's relatively affordable.

4. AngelHead

AngelHead Comrade

Feb 12, 2007

my district repays special ed teachers masters loans if they work in a special classroom in the district for at least three years. And you have to work while you're in school. Check to see what programs are available in your area.

if you can afford it and your program doesn't have other requirements, go to school and then work.

I don't know any schools.

5. AngelHead

AngelHead Comrade

Feb 12, 2007