forced into k/1 combination

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by clynns, Jul 17, 2010.

1. clynns

clynns Companion

Jul 17, 2010

I'm really stressed today. I've been teaching K for several years now and I've been told that I'm expected to teach a K/1 combo this year. I'm not happy about this. If I do this I will have a large group of kids that I had this past year. It's not that I don't like them because I loved them but I don't think it's a good idea to have kids back to back. I don't understand why I'm being asked to do this out of everyone else at my school. The K part would be made up of kids who didn't pass last year and those who barely did or had to go on because they'd already repeated. So these would be rather low students. I hope I'm not being totally selfish but I'm not happy about this. I've been working so hard this summer to research ways to teach and just have so much I'm ready to do. This would throw all of that off. I was recently told by my admin that I would be in K so I went ahead and got started. Anyone have anything like this happen to you or any advice? I'm just really overwhelmed and frustrated

3. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Jul 18, 2010

We always expect that there may be some changes in our teaching assignment between the end of one school year and the beginning of the next. With new enrollments, students moving away and staffing changes, sometimes classes need to be readjusted. It's always frustrating, but be thankful that you hav some time to prepare before the year begins. (Forr 3 out of the first 4 years our school was open, we had teachers change assignments right up until Christmas--one teacher, during his first year at the school, taught a different grade each term!)