For social studies what masters should I get

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Vtimmy13, Oct 20, 2017.

1. Vtimmy13

Vtimmy13 Guest

Oct 20, 2017

Hi everybody I'm a recent undergrad graduate of SUNY Oswego, i majored in both adolescent education of social studies 7-12 and I got my second major in History (not needed but I had extra credits I needed to fill). So now I wonder for my masters what would be the best choice for masters. Another education major (if so which one) or just go for History.. personally I love history and would love to get my masters in it opening up the possibility of working at the college level. But would getting another education degree make me more marketable and likely to get a job. If possible I would REALLY like to avoid student teaching again. Did it once and it was alot to deal with another teacher.

3. miss-m

miss-m Devotee

Oct 20, 2017

Social studies is one of the hardest subjects to get a job in. If you want something to make you marketable as a teacher, I’d say go for a different subject like math or science that will increase your chances of finding a job.
    Although I will also say that having a masters can make it harder to get a job as you would be more expensive to hire. Most districts as far as I know would prefer that you work on your masters after you get hired.

futuremathsprof and Leaborb192 like this.
  4. vickilyn

vickilyn Multitudinous

Oct 20, 2017