For PA Teachers: When to start Grad School?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Johnjoel, Aug 22, 2010.

1. Johnjoel

Johnjoel Companion

Aug 22, 2010

Hey everyone - I'm a teacher in PA and was wondering when most teachers in PA start their grad programs. I just taught my first year, and applied to a School Admin. program that may not let me start until this summer. I'm almost positive us Pennsylvanians have 6 years to get 24 post-bachelor credits before our certificate expires. I'd like to start sooner rather than later, but it looks like I might not have a choice. Is starting the summer of your second year pushing it to get those 24 credits on time?

Thanks!

3. Beth2004

Beth2004 Maven

Aug 22, 2010

I'm not in PA, but in MA we have to obtain a masters degree within 5 years of teaching. I started my M.Ed. program the summer after my first year and will be done with all 30 credits in December of my 4th year. I took one class every fall, one every spring, and two every summer (except for the first summer) and it'll have taken me 2.5 years to complete my degree.

4. MissAnt

MissAnt Comrade

Aug 22, 2010

I believe it is within 5 years now. I was wondering the same thing so I'd be interested to hear what others have to say.

5. MsMar

MsMar Fanatic

Aug 22, 2010

6. Elocin

Elocin Comrade

Aug 22, 2010

Some professional development credits count too, right?

7. Bumble

Bumble Groupie

Aug 22, 2010

I just started my grad program and I teach in PA. I just finished 1.5 years of service. In PA you can't start an administrative certification until after 5 years of service, so I would check with the program you're in. I plan to just take 24 ed courses and then enter the admin cert program.

8. Johnjoel

Johnjoel Companion

Aug 22, 2010

Thanks, MsMar! That link was helpful.

Bumble, I think you are right about that, but I think you can start grad courses for Admin. after 2 years.

9. MsMar

MsMar Fanatic

Aug 22, 2010