For Business Teachers, how long did it take to find work?

Discussion in 'High School' started by js00196, Mar 12, 2014.

1. js00196

js00196 Rookie

Mar 12, 2014

Hi everyone,

For business teachers, how long did it take you after graduating to find a teaching position? I have an undergrad degree in business and am currently in school for my secondary teaching certificate.

I'm a bit worried though, because business teachers aren't in demand, and it's pretty much a big risk to for me to stay in the teaching program, if no jobs are available.

To go teach another subject, I'd have to go back and take an additional 30 credits in another subject matter. Due to the time and cost, I'm not really interested in doing that.

So, I'm just trying to get a feel for business / marketing / computer ed. teachers on how long it took for them to find work.

I will be graduating next fall, 2015, so I know I will already be faced with a few months before positions start opening up at that time.

Right now, there is only ONE opening for a new business teacher for the 14 - 15 school year in the area where I live. That's compared to many more jobs springing up for other subjects.

Thank you,

Joe

3. mr_post22

mr_post22 Companion

Mar 13, 2014

It really all depends on your district. I used to teach business skills. I feel like you might have to broaden you horizon to include basic computer classes for elementary or middle schools. Also, don't look at just public schools, look at charter schools, private schools, or teach business for an online school.

4. js00196

js00196 Rookie

Mar 13, 2014

Thanks for your reply. I'm not sure if teaching basic computer classes would require a whole other teaching certificate. IL has what is called a Type 09 certificate for teaching at the secondary level. Elementary is considered Type 03, I think.